PERSONAL CRITIQUE OF TEXTILE DEGREE SHOWS 2017

Name of Degree Show student:  Melissa Macdonald

Critique /comment on the development of ideas and concepts in this work: Melissa has named her collection ‘Abstract Tropical’ looking at what nature has to offer in a abstract well to create a sense of well-being and comfort within the home.  I really like the concepts behind this work with the whole abstract tropical, however I’m not too sure if you can judge whether you can get comfort by just looking at her work.

How successfully are the materials and techniques used to convey the concepts? For me I would say that I do find her work aesthetically appeasing through the use for her colours and materials she has used. furthermore I really like the ceramic work she has do to, which adds to the whole piece.

What is it about this exhibition that most impresses you? What has impressed me the most about her work is how professional it its, I feel that you could but any of her pieces in to a shop now and they would sell and be really current. furthermore I like how diverse her collection is with the use of ceramics and even making packaging for her products which just makes them even more profession and sell-able.

Briefly evaluate the presentation style of the work: I think for presentation style of her work is extremely professional and to a high standard, and the fact that she has even made packaging for her products just finishes off the whole collection. This is something I would want to do in my own degree show collection.

Name of Degree Show student: Aniqah Zenab Murtaza

Critique/ comment on the development of ideas and concepts in this work: I really like this she has taken inspiration from her roots as a Muslim and looked at Islamic geometry and mixing tradition with contemporary. I really like her use of lines and shapes within her work as it has created some very striking patterns.

How successfully are the materials and techniques used to convey the concepts? The use of her materials and techniques have helped to convey this message of traditional with contemporary within her designs as the use of her colour palette a well.

What is it about this exhibition that most impresses you? What has been the most impresses with in her exhibition was the quality of her samples and the overall layout of the exhibition works really well with her pieces.

Briefly evaluate the presentation style of the work: Her presentation style is very professional and neat I like the way she has placed the rack of the samples underneath the shelf which works really well a keeping everything really neat and clear looking and it also helps to create unity within her work.

How do you perceive the shows, generally? I think the show this year has been extremely successful and professional with the level of standard really high. Furthermore I think this show this year has been a lot more diverse in the fact that quite a lot of people have done textiles art pieces instead of just the normal interiors, fashion or stationery rote. This has made the show a lot more interesting and unique.

List 3 key things you have learnt from what you have seen overall?

  • I have learnt that the show is done to a extermely high professional standard.
  • it has shown me all the different ways in which I can display my sample for my show next year.
  • Also it has made me think more about what I want to do next your for my own degree show and it has made me to think about what I could do with my space.

 

 

Leave a Reply

