Underglaze

Today I also learnt another ceramic process with Duncan which was underglaze with this process you take something that has been biscuit fired and then you use these underglaze pigment that come in power form and then you add water with them to create watercolour constancy paint. Then with these pigments you can draw directly on to the biscuit fired ceramics. I really like this process as it allows you create a paint like look on your clay also it is very easy to use as anyone that can paint can do it. This is definitely something I’m thinking about using on final plates. Furthermore I feel like this is something I could develop in my subject as well, say I want to create some kitchen tiles I feel this technique would work well for something like that. 15300737_10154411084152284_950118937_n

Leave a Reply

